#Forfeit

Getting divorced at twenty-five sucks
Teaching over-confident rich kids instead of designing handbags for Mulberry sucks. In fact, every single aspect of Daisy Fitzgerald’s life is one big…

#fail
Enter Xander, a veritable Knight-in-Shining-Cricket-Pads, who knocks her off her wedge heels and into his world of It-girls, players and Michelin stars.

Buoyed up on cocktails & escapism
Daisy agrees to play Forfeit, the ultimate game of dares, where a simple kiss sparks her relationship with Xander. But £25,000 is up for grabs and the game’s called Forfeit for good reason.

Blackmail * Betrayal * Revenge
Move over Gatsby, there’s a new bunch of bored young things in town.

Perfect for fans of Jilly Cooper, David Nicholls, Fiona Walker and Jo Carnegie, #Forfeit’s an contemporary romance from a No.1 and ‘Most Read’ Wattpad author with over 3,000,000 online reads.

“#Forfeit will make you laugh, cry, question your sanity and wish for your very own Knight-In-Shining-Cricket-Pads.” – cosyingupwithbooks.blogspot.co.uk

My opinion: When Caroline got in contact with me to ask if I would read and review her book, I knew from just skim reading the blurb that this was a book for me!

Daisy is a 25 year old divorcee who is trying to piece her life back together after it majorly fell apart. When looking for somewhere to live, she meets Xander, a young lad who comes to her rescue. Not only does he help her with somewhere to stay, but also helps her to start having fun and rebuild her life again. At a party with Xander’s friends, Daisy agrees to take part in a game called Forfeit. The game brings out her competitive side (well there is £25,000 at stake, and she’s skint) and mayhem ensues.

I really enjoyed the book from the moment I picked it up. I instantly liked Daisy, although some of her reactions to bad situations (particularly involving her ex) annoyed me a little bit. Although Daisy works as a teacher in a rural location, she still lives a bit of a rock and roll lifestyle in the book and does things that I wanted to tut loudly at! I also really liked Xander. He seems like such a charmer and a gent, I couldn’t help but like him.

This book is a great modern take on what can happen when young people get bored and play a silly game. Only this time we have the power of the internet and social media, along with lots of sex, booze and dance music!

My rating: Four stars

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review

Book extract: #Forfeit

Today I’m featuring an excerpt from the fabulous #Forfeit by Caroline Batten

‘What’s Forfeit?’ Finn asked, half laughing.

Daisy daren’t look up. He’d think her a childish brat for handing over five hundred pounds to do a stupid dare.

‘It’s the ultimate game of dares,’ India explained, her gentle, husky voice, sounding like a purr. ‘My parents’ used to play it when I was a kid. They’d have these totes cool parties–’

‘Mum and Dad used to play?’ James asked, his head already shaking, disbelieving her, but India nodded, her glossy curls bouncing.

‘And Bella.’ India sat back, grinning.

My mum played?’ Marcus leaned on the table, frowning.

‘When I was about five,’ India said, ‘she rode a motorbike around the house. I watched through the banister at the top of the stairs. I thought mum would go insane, but she just shrieked with laughter.’ Fleeting sadness washed over her face, but she soon replaced it with a fabulous smile.

‘Bella rode a motorbike, in the house?’ James shook his head. ‘As if.’

‘So can Finn and I play too?’ India asked.

James glanced to Xander who gave an almost imperceptible shake of his head. ‘No. Original players only. If you start it, you have to finish it. It’s in the small print.’

India sulked. ‘You’re such a pedant.’

‘Money, table,’ James said to the others, his interest infinitely more piqued than earlier.

Under India’s envious pout, Daisy merrily tossed five hundred pounds of Clara’s money into the metaphorical pot. Five hundred pounds. One third of what her car was worth. Okay, Clara said she didn’t want it back again if Daisy lost, but no way could Daisy live with herself if she didn’t pay her back. And no way could she afford to pay her back. The only option was to win.

Daisy threw the Teetotum ball. It landed on nineteen, not a number she loved.

‘Shit.’ James said, scowling at his card. ‘Well, that’s hardly fun. Or difficult.’

‘What?’ Xander asked, throwing the ball

James screwed up his face. ‘It says I can’t let anyone know what I’m doing, or why.’

Oh, like the Kiss Dare had to be done in secret. Tentatively, Daisy opened her card.

Temperance.

No drink or drugs for 30 days.

‘Oh, bollocks.’ Despairing, she showed Xander the card.

‘It’ll do you good.’

‘What is it?’ Finn’s eyes glinted as he sipped his wine.

Marcus whipped the card out of Daisy’s hands. ‘No drinking? Good luck with that.’

‘She can do it,’ Xander said, flipping a beer mat at his friend.

‘I’d bet five hundred quid she can’t,’ James said, his lip curling in a mean smile.

‘Bugger you,’ Daisy snapped. ‘Five hundred quid says I can.’

‘You’re on.’ James leant across the table and held out his hand.

Oh, now this was fortuitous. If she did the dare, she was guaranteed to get Clara’s five hundred pounds back and if she won the whole thing… well, hello, two and a half grand.